About Us

BMT CTN Clinical Centers

The BMT CTN has 20 Core Clinical Centers. Each Core Center holds a cooperative agreement with the NHLBI to participate in the BMT CTN. These centers were chosen based on the scientific merit of their grant applications to the NIH, as well as evidence of their ability to collaborate in carrying out the Network mission of developing and completing high-quality trials as efficiently as possible. Eleven Core Centers are consortia of multiple centers, with a total of 38 centers represented as well as the Pediatric Transplant and Cellular Therapy Consortium (PTCTC), which includes over 50 centers that have participated in BMT CTN.  A list of Core Centers and Principal Investigators for the current project period, July 2017 through June 2024, may be seen below.

The BMT CTN encourages and facilitates broad participation of the HCT community through its Affiliate Center system. Over 75 Affiliate Centers participate in one of more Network trials through individual contracts with the BMT CTN DCC. About 15-20% of BMT CTN’s accrual comes from Affiliate Centers. To find more information about participation as an Affiliate Center, please navigate to the BMT CTN Center Membership & Study Participation page.

A map of the locations of participating Core and Affiliate Centers is shown below.

Locations of Participating Centers in North America:

   

Participating Clinical Centers are responsible for recruiting, examining, and treating study participants.  They are also responsible for collecting all clinical, laboratory, demographic, and other data required by each study.  Each Clinical Center is led by a Principal Investigator who is personally responsible for ensuring that all aspects of BMT CTN protocols are followed.  Other key center staff includes physicians, study coordinators, pharmacists, and laboratory technicians.

The Core Clinical Centers are:

Baylor College of Medicine/Houston Methodist Hospital (Consortium)
Baylor College of Medicine

Helen Heslop, MD - Principal Investigator
Steering Committee Vice Chair
Baylor College of Medicine
Center for Cell and Gene Therapy
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030
E-Mail: hheslop@bcm.edu

Children's National Medical Center

Catherine Bollard, MD, MBChB - Principal Investigator
Children's National Medical Center/Children's Research Institute
111 Michigan Avenue NW, Suite 5200
Washington DC 20010
E-Mail: cbollard@childrensnational.org

Baylor College/Texas Children's Hospital

Carl Allen, MD, PhD - Principal Investigator
Baylor College of Medicine
Center for Cell and Gene Therapy
One Baylor Plaza
Houston TX 77030
E-Mail: ceallen@txch.org

City of Hope National Medical Center

Ryo Nakamura, MD - Principal Investigator
City of Hope National Medical Center
1500 East Duarte Road
Duarte, CA  91010-3000
E-Mail: rnakamura@coh.org

Dana Farber Cancer Institute (Consortium)
Dana Farber Cancer Institute

Joseph Antin, MD - Principal Investigator
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
450 Brookline Avenue
Boston, MA  02115
E-Mail: jantin@partners.org

Massachusetts General Hospital

Yi-Bin Chen, MD - Principal Investigator
Massachusetts General Hospital
55 Fruit Street
Boston, MA  02114
E-Mail: ychen6@partners.org

Duke University (Consortium)
Duke University Medical Center

Joanne Kurtzberg, MD - Principal Investigator
Duke University Medical Center
Pediatric Blood & Marrow Transplant
2400 Pratt Street
DUMC Box 3850
Durham, NC 27705
E-Mail: kurtz001@mc.duke.edu

University of Virginia

Karen Ballen, MD - Principal Investigator
University of Virginia
Emily Couric Clinical Cancer Center
1240 Lee Street
Charlottesville, VA 22903
E-Mail: kb3tc@hscmail.mcc.virginia.edu

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center Research Center

Frederick Appelbaum, MD – Principal Investigator
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
1100 Fairview Avenue North, D5-310
Seattle, WA  98109
E-Mail: fappelba@fhcrc.org
E-Mail: sjlee@fredhutch.org

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center (Consortium)
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center

Joseph Pidala, MD, PhD – Principal Investigator
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center
12902 Magnolia Drive
Tampa, FL 33612
E-Mail: joseph.pidala@moffitt.org

Moffitt at Memorial Healthcare System

Hugo Fernandez, MD - Principal Investigator
Moffitt at Memorial Healthcare System
Memorial Cancer Institute
Pembroke Pines, FL 33028
E-Mail: HuFernandez@mhs.net

Johns Hopkins University

Richard Jones, MD - Principal Investigator
Johns Hopkins University
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
401 North Broadway
Baltimore, MD 21287
E-Mail: rjjones@jhmi.edu

Medical College of Wisconsin

Saurabh Chhabra, MD, MS - Principal Investigator
Medical College of Wisconsin
9200 West Wisconsin Avenue, Suite C5500
Milwaukee, WI  53226
E-Mail: schhabra@mcw.edu

Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Miguel Perales, MD - Principal Investigator
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
1275 York Avenue, Box 298
New York, NY 10065
E-Mail: peralesm@mskcc.org

Mount Sinai (Consortium)
Mount Sinai Medical Center

John Levine, MD, MS- Principal Investigator
Mount Sinai Medical Center
One Gustave L. Levy Place, Box 1410
New York, NY  10029
E-Mail: john.levine@mssm.edu

Mayo Clinic-Minnesota

William Hogan, MD, BCh - Principal Investigator
Mayo Clinic
200 First Street SW
Rochester, MN 55905
E-Mail: hogan.william@mayo.edu

Vanderbilt University

Adetola Kassim, MD - Principal Investigator
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
1301 Medical Center Drive, Suite 3927 TVC
Nashville, TN 37232
E-Mail: adetola.kassim@vumc.org

Northside Hospital (Consortium)
Northside Hospital Atlanta

Hugo Fernandez, MD - Principal Investigator
Moffitt at Memorial Healthcare System
Memorial Cancer Institute
Pembroke Pines, FL 33028
E-Mail: HuFernandez@mhs.net

University of Miami

Krishna Komanduri, MD, PhD - Principal Investigator
University of Miami
1475 NW 12 Avenue, Suite 3300
Miami, FL 33136
E-Mail: kkomanduri@med.miami.edu

Levine Cancer Institute

Edward Copelan, MD - Principal Investigator
Levine Cancer Institute
1021 Morehead Medical Drive, Suite 5300
Charlotte, NC 28204
E-Mail: edward.copelan@carolinashealthcare.org

Ohio State University (Consortium)
Ohio State

Sumithira Vasu, MD - Principal Investigator
The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center
Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital
320 West 10th Avenue, B316 Starling Loving Hall
Columbus, OH 43210
E-Mail: sumithira.vasu@osumc.edu

Roswell Park Cancer Institute

Philip McCarthy, MD - Co-Principal Investigator
Theresa Hahn, PhD - Co-Principal Investigator
Roswell Park Cancer Institute
Blood and Marrow Transplant
Elm and Carlton Streets
Buffalo, NY 14263
E-Mail: philip.mccarthy@roswellpark.org
E-Mail: theresa.hahn@roswellpark.org

University of California-San Francisco

Lloyd Damon, MD - Principal Investigator
University of California, San Francisco Medical Center
Adult Hematology/Oncology/BMT
400 Parnassus Avenue, 4th Floor Clinic
San Francisco, CA 94143
E-Mail: damonl@medicine.ucsf.edu

University of North Carolina

William Wood, MD, MPH - Principal Investigator
University of North Carolina Hospitals
Hematology/Oncology
CB 7305 Manning Drive, 3rd Floor Physicians Office Building
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
E-Mail: william_wood@med.unc.edu

Virginia Commonwealth University/Medical College of Virginia

John McCarty, MD - Principal Investigator
Virginia Commonwealth University
Massey Cancer Center BMT Program
1300 E. Marshall Steet, PO Box 980157
Richmond, VA 23298
E-Mail: jmccarty@mcvh-vcu.edu

Oregon Health and Science University (Consortium)
Oregon Health and Science University

Richard Maziarz, MD - Principal Investigator
Oregon Health & Science University
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road, Mail Code UHN 73C
Portland, OR 97239
E-Mail: maziarzr@ohsu.edu

Case Western Reserve University

Brenda Cooper, MD - Principal Investigator
Case Western Reserve University
11100 Euclid Avenue, LKS5079
Cleveland, OH 44106
E-Mail: Brenda.Cooper@UHhospitals.org

Cleveland Clinic

Betty Hamilton, MD - Principal Investigator
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
9500 Euclid Avenue, Desk CA-61
Cleveland, OH 44915
E-Mail: hamiltb2@ccf.org

Loyola University

Patrick Stiff, MD - Principal Investigator
Loyola University Medical Center
2160 South First Avenue
Maywood, IL 60153
E-Mail: pstiff@lumc.edu

PTCTC (Pediatric Transplantation & Cellular Therapy Consortium)

Mike Pulsipher, MD - Principal Investigator
Pediatric Transplantation & Cellular Therapy Consortium
University of Utah
1950 Circle of Hope
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
E-Mail: michael.pulsipher@hci.utah.edu

Stanford Hospitals and Clinics

Robert Lowsky, MD - Principal Investigator
Stanford Hospital and Clinics
Blood and Marrow Transplant Clinic
300 Pasteur Drive, Room H-0101, MC 5623
Stanford, CA 94305
E-Mail: rlowsky@stanford.edu

University of Florida (Consortium)
University of Florida

John Wingard, MD - Principal Investigator
University of Florida/Shands Healthcare Medical
Hematology/Oncology
1600 SW Archer Road, Box 100278
Gainesville, FL 32610
E-Mail: wingajr@ufl.edu

Emory University

Edmund Waller, MD, PhD - Principal Investigator
Emory University Hospital
1365 Clifton Road, N.E. Room B5119
Atlanta, GA 30322
E-Mail: ewaller@emory.edu

University of Michigan (Consortium)
University of Michigan Medical Center

Greg Yanik, MD - Principal Investigator
University of Michigan Medical Center
Blood and Marrow Transplant Program
1500 E. Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
E-Mail: gyanik@med.umich.edu

Indiana University

Sherif Farag, MD, PhD - Principal Investigator
Indiana University Hospital
980 West Walnut Street, Room C414
Indianapolis, IN 46202
E-Mail: ssfarag@iu.edu

Karmanos Cancer Center

Joseph Uberti, MD, PhD - Principal Investigator
Karmanos Cancer Institute
Bone Marrow Transplant
4100 John R. 4th Floor HWCRC
Detroit, MI  48201
E-Mail: ubertij@karmanos.org

University of Minnesota

Claudio Brunstein, MD, PhD - Principal Investigator
University of Minnesota Medical Center
Blood and Marrow Transplant Program
420 Delaware Street S.E., Mailstop 480
Minneapolis, MN 55455
E-Mail: bruns072@umn.edu

University of Pennsylvania

Edward Stadtmauer, MD - Principal Investigator
University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
Abramson Cancer Center
3400 Civic Center Boulevard
2nd Floor West Pavilion
Philadelphia, PA 19104
E-Mail: stadtmau@mail.med.upenn.edu

Washington University

Peter Westervelt, MD - Principal Investigator
Washington University School of Medicine
Division of Oncology
660 South Euclid Avenue Campus Box 8007
St. Louis, MO 63110
E-Mail: pwesterv@dom.wustl.edu